Beee-ay-annas, Beee-ay-en-ay-en-ay-annas…BANANAS

Standard

One of the things I am MOST grateful to my sweet mom for is my love and joy of baking.  Straight up got my baking genes from my momma…along with my unruly hair.  I guess you gotta take the bad with the good.

One of my ALL TIME favorite treats growing up was when my mom baked homemade banana bread.  Hands down some of the BEST banana bread on the planet…and no…I am NOT biased.

Today I baked banana bread and documented my every move for you to see.  Should you feel so inclined to jump on the bandwagon and bake some banana bread for yourself, or for your significant other, or your super awesome neighbor…please, come follow along.

How ironic…I just happen to wear a yellow shirt for my baking endeavors.  Yellow shirt….yellow bananas.  Fate.  Also, it’s been a while since I’ve taken any self portraits and shared them with you…YOU’REWELCOME!

THE recipe.  In momma’s handwriting.  (love)

Cream together 1/3 cup margarine and 1 cup sugar.

*If you can help it, use Land O’ Lakes margarine.  It’s only the best.

Add 2 well beaten eggs…

…and 3 TBSP sour milk

I know what you’re thinking right about now.

“WHERE THE HECK AM I GONNA GET SOUR MILK?”

Simple.  Measure out your 3 TBSP of milk into a bowl and add a splash of vinegar.  Now you have sour milk.

In a separate bowl, mix together 2 cups flour, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp baking powder and 1 tsp baking soda

Dump your flour mixture into the mixing bowl and let ‘er rip.

Okay, maybe you shouldn’t necessarily let ‘er rip because then you’ll end up with flour EVERYWHERE.  So…just mix gently, until the flour mixture is incorporated…like so…

Next up, the mashed bananas.

This is where I kiiiiiinda cheat.  I don’t mash my ripe bananas.  I let my trusty Kitchen Aid take care of that for me.  So yeah, you can mash up your bananas before you add them to the mixing bowl or you can cheat like me and throw them in the mixer whole.

Add 1 cup chopped walnuts (optional) and gently fold into the bread dough.

Grease a loaf pan (or in my case, 2 little loaf pans) and dump the bread dough into the pan.

Bake at 350 for 45 – 50 minutes.

And then….

VOILA!  ENJOY!!

5 responses »

  1. Now, cut it up, dip in egg mixture for french toast, and voila…AWESOME french toast. Yes, the coach at my gym told me about that one (you know…the same place that preaches about no bread)…I’m definitely going to be going out to buy old bananas to try it myself. I add chocolate chips instead of nuts, and I think that will be FABULOUS for the french toast…enjoy! :)

  2. As I was reading your post to Dad, he saw the recipe card and said “She Stole it!!”

    Right out of his mouth—you know the guy you think is on a pedestal and you think you are his favorite—how do you like him now??

  3. Pingback: Banana Fanana Bread | What's On the Stove?

Leave a Reply

